Category: Take Action!

Take Action!

Save Bristol Bay – Pebble Mine is Simply the Wrong Mine in the Wrong Place at the Wrong Time

For nearly a decade, we have fought to protect Bristol Bay from the proposed Pebble mine. As wild salmon populations decline globally, Bristol Bay’s prolific wild salmon runs and the economies they support make it a place of international importance. It faces imminent threat from the proposed Pebble mine as well as hard rock mining on adjacent state and federal land. In order to stay thriving, the salmon must be protected from Pebble and other large-scale mining projects.

Read More

Public Budget Hearing Includes the New Transylvania County Courthouse

“I hope that you and some of your friends will go to the county commission meeting on Monday at 7:00 and demand that they delay action on the courthouse, demand additional options to address the courthouse needs while keeping the court function downtown, and demand that the issue of moving the courthouse or raising taxes to pay for the courthouse be put on the ballot for the citizens to vote on.” 

Read More

Contact information for our local representatives

Our Elected officials

President of the United States:
Donald Trump (R): 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; 202-456-1111; E-mail through website.

U.S. Senate:

Sen. Richard Burr (R)  217 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-3154; 151 Patton Ave., Suite 204, Asheville, NC 28801; 828-350-2437. Email via Website: ;E-mail through website

Thom Tillis (R): 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; (202) 224-6342; 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Suite 112, Hendersonville, NC 28792 (828) 693-8750; Website:; E-mail through website

U.S. House of Representatives:
Mark Meadows (R-11th) 1516 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-6401. 200 N. Grove St., Hendersonville, NC 28792; 828-693-5660; website: ;E-mail through website.

NC Governor:
Roy Cooper (D): 20301 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-0301; (919) 814-2000; Website:; E-mail through website.

NC Senate:
Chuck Edwards (R-Hendersonville)337 N. Main St., Hendersonville, NC 28792, (828) 214-5700, Website:

Phil Berger (R-Eden): Senate Majority Leader
PO Box 1309, Eden, NC 27289-1309, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2007, Raleigh, NC 27601-2808, 919-733-5708

NC House of Representatives:
Cody Henson (R-Brevard): 300 N. Salisbury St., Room 537, Raleigh, NC 27603-5925, (919) 715-4466; PO Box 1626, Brevard, NC 28712. No website.

Tim Moore (R-King’s Mtn.): House Majority Leader, 305 E. King St., Kings Mtn, NC 28086, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2304, Raleigh, NC 27601-1096, 919-733-4838.

Transylvania County Commission (all Rs):
Larry Chapman: Chairman, 2026 Williamson Creek Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; 828-883-5653 (W), 828-883-2075 (H);
Mike Hawkins: 148 Placid Drive – Brevard, NC  28712, Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-9732 (H).
Page Lemel: 101 Keystone Camp Road, Brevard, NC 28712; 828- 884-9125;
Jason Chappell: P.O. Box 521, Rosman, NC 28772; 828-862-6679 (H).
Kelvin Phillips: 425 Green Road, Brevard, NC 28712(828)

Transylvania County Board of Education:
Tawny McCoy (R-chair): 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H); 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H);
Ron Kiviniemi (D): 28 Big Rock Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; (828) 884-4489 (home); 
Betty Scruggs McGaha (D): 40 Lochencove Ridge, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-2494 (home);
Marty Griffin (D): P.O. Box 1023, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-8707 (home):
Alice Wellborn (D): 21 Whispering Spring Drive, Pisgah Forest, NC  28768; (828) 883-2638 (home);

Brevard City Council:
Mayor Jimmy Harris: 828-883-2103, E-mail:
Mac Morrow; Mayor pro tem: 828-885-8444;
Charlie Landreth: 828-577-3401;
Maurice Jones: 828-883-3200;
Ann Hollingsworth: 828-884-4974;
Gary Daniel: 828-862-3587;

Pin It on Pinterest