Category: Take Action!

Take Action!

FIGHT BACK AGAINST ANTI-VOTER CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

If approved, all of these amendments would be permanent changes to the North Carolina Constitution that could not be changed by the governor or future legislatures and that give current lawmakers a “blank check” to fill in the details later on how these dramatic changes are implemented. They are all extreme proposals that would give more power to the legislative branch to pick our judges, make voting harder, appoint their friends to run key agencies, and give political donors huge tax breaks.

Read More

NC lawmakers may hold special session to write ballot wording for amendments

Senate Democratic Leader Dan Blue said Republicans are trying to tip the constitutional balance of power in the legislature’s favor.

“Republicans are serving their own interests, not the people’s interest,” he said.

“It’s trying to take all of the power from the people, that the people have given to their government, and arrogate it to the legislative branch of government. I don’t care if there are Democrats in the majority or Republicans in the majority, that cuts very strongly against the basic structure and the core of the government in this state.”

Read More

THE LOCALIST REVOLUTION

Change in a localist world often looks like a renewal of old forms, which were often more intimate and personalistic than the technocratic structures of the past 50 years. Localism stands for the idea that there is no one set of solutions to diverse national problems. Instead, it brings conservatives and liberals together around the thought that people are happiest when their lives are enmeshed in caring face-to-face relationships, building their communities together.

Read More
Loading

This is What Democracy Looks Like

[ecwd id="81" type="mini" page_items="30" event_search="yes" display="week" displays="week,list,week,day" filters=""]

Contact information for our local representatives

Our Elected officials

President of the United States:
Donald Trump (R): 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; 202-456-1111 www.whitehouse.gov/contact; E-mail through website.

U.S. Senate:

Sen. Richard Burr (R)  217 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-3154; 151 Patton Ave., Suite 204, Asheville, NC 28801; 828-350-2437. Email via Website: https://www.burr.senate.gov/ ;E-mail through website

Thom Tillis (R): 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; (202) 224-6342; 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Suite 112, Hendersonville, NC 28792 (828) 693-8750; Website: https://www.tillis.senate.gov/; E-mail through website

U.S. House of Representatives:
Mark Meadows (R-11th) 1516 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-6401. 200 N. Grove St., Hendersonville, NC 28792; 828-693-5660; website: https://meadows.house.gov/ ;E-mail through website.

NC Governor:
Roy Cooper (D): 20301 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-0301; (919) 814-2000; Website: http://governor.nc.gov/contact-governor-cooper; E-mail through website.

NC Senate:
Chuck Edwards (R-Hendersonville)337 N. Main St., Hendersonville, NC 28792, (828) 214-5700, Website: http://www.chuckedwardsnc.com/

Phil Berger (R-Eden): Senate Majority Leader
PO Box 1309, Eden, NC 27289-1309, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2007, Raleigh, NC 27601-2808, 919-733-5708
Phil. Berger@ncleg.net

NC House of Representatives:
Cody Henson (R-Brevard): 300 N. Salisbury St., Room 537, Raleigh, NC 27603-5925, (919) 715-4466; PO Box 1626, Brevard, NC 28712. cody.henson@ncleg.net. No website.

Tim Moore (R-King’s Mtn.): House Majority Leader, 305 E. King St., Kings Mtn, NC 28086, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2304, Raleigh, NC 27601-1096, 919-733-4838. Tim.Moore@ncleg.net.

Transylvania County Commission (all Rs):
Larry Chapman: Chairman, 2026 Williamson Creek Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; 828-883-5653 (W), 828-883-2075 (H); Larry.Chapman@transylvaniacounty.org
Mike Hawkins: 148 Placid Drive – Brevard, NC  28712, Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-9732 (H). Mike.Hawkins@transylvaniacounty.org
Page Lemel: 101 Keystone Camp Road, Brevard, NC 28712; 828- 884-9125; page.lemel@transylvaniacounty.org
Jason Chappell: P.O. Box 521, Rosman, NC 28772; 828-862-6679 (H). Jason.Chappell@transylvaniacounty.org.
Kelvin Phillips: 425 Green Road, Brevard, NC 28712(828) 883-9218kelvin.phillips@transylvaniacounty.org

Transylvania County Board of Education:
Tawny McCoy (R-chair): 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H); 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H);
Ron Kiviniemi (D): 28 Big Rock Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; (828) 884-4489 (home); rkiviniemi@tcsnc.org 
Betty Scruggs McGaha (D): 40 Lochencove Ridge, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-2494 (home); bmcgaha@tcsnc.org
Marty Griffin (D): P.O. Box 1023, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-8707 (home): martyg@tcsnc.org
Alice Wellborn (D): 21 Whispering Spring Drive, Pisgah Forest, NC  28768; (828) 883-2638 (home); awellborn@tcsnc.org

Brevard City Council:
Mayor Jimmy Harris: 828-883-2103, E-mail: jimmy.harris@cityofbrevard.com
Mac Morrow; Mayor pro tem: 828-885-8444; mac.morrow@cityofbrevard.com
Charlie Landreth: 828-577-3401; charlie.landreth@cityofbrevard.com
Maurice Jones: 828-883-3200; maurice.jones@cityofbrevard.com
Ann Hollingsworth: 828-884-4974; ann.hollingsworth@cityofbrevard.com
Gary Daniel: 828-862-3587; gary.daniel@cityofbrevard.com