Category: Take Action!

Take Action!

Sign and send the petition to Congress: Congress has the power to save the census.

This is another chapter in the racially based playbook for the Republican game of permanent majority, minority oppression, and ethnic cleansing versus fair voting, one vote-one voice, and participation in government of the people, by the people and for the people. It is an affront to the principles of representative Democracy and a moral disgrace, no matter what rationale you hide it behind.

Read More
Loading

This is What Democracy Looks Like

The Declaration of Independence

When did you last read the Declaration of Independence? It grows increasingly relevant... "In every stage of these Oppressions We have Petitioned for Redress in the most humble terms: Our repeated Petitions have been answered only by repeated injury. A Prince, whose character is thus marked by every act which may define a Tyrant, is unfit to be the ruler of a free people." Makes you wonder if King George III assaulted women and had an orange comb-over.

< 2018 >
April 26 - May 02
  • 26
    26.April.Thursday
    No events
  • 27
    27.April.Friday
    No events
  • 28
    28.April.Saturday
    Plant sale

    24th Annual Transylvania Garden Groups Spring Plant Sale April 28th

    8:00 am-12:00 pm
    04/28/2018

    The annual spring plant sale by the Transylvania Master Gardeners, The Transylvania Garden Club, The French Broad Garden Club and the Heritage Museum will be held Saturday, April 28, from 8 a.m. until noon at the Brevard Ingles parking lot on Asheville Highway. This will be the second year in this location and it allows very easy access and plenty of parking for customers.

    The annual plant sale raises funds to support gardening and landscape projects throughout Transylvania Count including the Master Gardeners projects including those at Silvermont and the Pisgah Ranger Station and scholarships provided by the garden clubs.

    Come early for the best selection from a large variety of high quality, locally raised perennials, annuals, vegetables, trees and shrubs. Local gardeners also will be on hand to offer advice.

    The plant sale takes place rain or shine. Admission is free.

    For more information, contact the Transylvania County Extension office, (828) 884-3109 or mmickew@ncsu.edu.

  • 29
    29.April.Sunday
    No events
  • 30
    30.April.Monday
    No events
  • 01
    01.May.Tuesday
    No events
  • 02
    02.May.Wednesday
    No events

Contact information for our local representatives

Our Elected officials

President of the United States:
Donald Trump (R): 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; 202-456-1111 www.whitehouse.gov/contact; E-mail through website.

U.S. Senate:

Sen. Richard Burr (R)  217 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-3154; 151 Patton Ave., Suite 204, Asheville, NC 28801; 828-350-2437. Email via Website: https://www.burr.senate.gov/ ;E-mail through website

Thom Tillis (R): 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; (202) 224-6342; 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Suite 112, Hendersonville, NC 28792 (828) 693-8750; Website: https://www.tillis.senate.gov/; E-mail through website

U.S. House of Representatives:
Mark Meadows (R-11th) 1516 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-6401. 200 N. Grove St., Hendersonville, NC 28792; 828-693-5660; website: https://meadows.house.gov/ ;E-mail through website.

NC Governor:
Roy Cooper (D): 20301 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-0301; (919) 814-2000; Website: http://governor.nc.gov/contact-governor-cooper; E-mail through website.

NC Senate:
Chuck Edwards (R-Hendersonville)337 N. Main St., Hendersonville, NC 28792, (828) 214-5700, Website: http://www.chuckedwardsnc.com/

Phil Berger (R-Eden): Senate Majority Leader
PO Box 1309, Eden, NC 27289-1309, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2007, Raleigh, NC 27601-2808, 919-733-5708
Phil. Berger@ncleg.net

NC House of Representatives:
Cody Henson (R-Brevard): 300 N. Salisbury St., Room 537, Raleigh, NC 27603-5925, (919) 715-4466; PO Box 1626, Brevard, NC 28712. cody.henson@ncleg.net. No website.

Tim Moore (R-King’s Mtn.): House Majority Leader, 305 E. King St., Kings Mtn, NC 28086, 16 W. Jones St., Room 2304, Raleigh, NC 27601-1096, 919-733-4838. Tim.Moore@ncleg.net.

Transylvania County Commission (all Rs):
Larry Chapman: Chairman, 2026 Williamson Creek Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; 828-883-5653 (W), 828-883-2075 (H); Larry.Chapman@transylvaniacounty.org
Mike Hawkins: 148 Placid Drive – Brevard, NC  28712, Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-9732 (H). Mike.Hawkins@transylvaniacounty.org
Page Lemel: 101 Keystone Camp Road, Brevard, NC 28712; 828- 884-9125; page.lemel@transylvaniacounty.org
Jason Chappell: P.O. Box 521, Rosman, NC 28772; 828-862-6679 (H). Jason.Chappell@transylvaniacounty.org.
Kelvin Phillips: 425 Green Road, Brevard, NC 28712(828) 883-9218kelvin.phillips@transylvaniacounty.org

Transylvania County Board of Education:
Tawny McCoy (R-chair): 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H); 1564 Cashiers Valley Rd., Brevard, NC 28712; 828-884-5015 (H);
Ron Kiviniemi (D): 28 Big Rock Rd., Pisgah Forest, NC 28768; (828) 884-4489 (home); rkiviniemi@tcsnc.org 
Betty Scruggs McGaha (D): 40 Lochencove Ridge, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-2494 (home); bmcgaha@tcsnc.org
Marty Griffin (D): P.O. Box 1023, Brevard, NC 28712; (828) 883-8707 (home): martyg@tcsnc.org
Alice Wellborn (D): 21 Whispering Spring Drive, Pisgah Forest, NC  28768; (828) 883-2638 (home); awellborn@tcsnc.org

Brevard City Council:
Mayor Jimmy Harris: 828-883-2103, E-mail: jimmy.harris@cityofbrevard.com
Mac Morrow; Mayor pro tem: 828-885-8444; mac.morrow@cityofbrevard.com
Charlie Landreth: 828-577-3401; charlie.landreth@cityofbrevard.com
Maurice Jones: 828-883-3200; maurice.jones@cityofbrevard.com
Ann Hollingsworth: 828-884-4974; ann.hollingsworth@cityofbrevard.com
Gary Daniel: 828-862-3587; gary.daniel@cityofbrevard.com

Pin It on Pinterest